Home > Q&A > Literature > What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice?
Cite this
Q

What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice?

A

One of Jane Austen’s most popular novels, Pride and Prejudice, became classic English literature. Every year, it attracts more readers. Jane Eyre and Little Women are some of the books that were written in the same literary period. They fit a similar genre and tackle the same themes.

Detailed answer:

Many readers are puzzled by the book choice when they are finished with Pride and Prejudice. Undoubtedly, the novel tackles a fascinating historical period. It covers the pressing themes of love, family, and class. There are two books that can compare with Austen’s novel. They are Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë and Little Women by Louisa Alcott.

Jane Eyre is also regarded as one of the English classics. The resemblance is apparent. The events of both books happen during the same era, which creates a similar atmosphere. Female characters in the center of the novels are also alike. Jane Eyre and Elizabeth Bennet struggle with fitting in the social scene with their unconventional views on life.

Little Women is more realistic in tone and plot. It investigates the themes of family, class, and gender that are present in Pride and Prejudice. Both novels narrate a story of women who transform from teenagers to adults. Elizabeth Bennet and Josephine March come from the middle class. This fact helps the authors to implement the discussion on social status into their literary works. Little Women also explores the concepts of sisterhood. Family bonds play a significant role in character development.

Answer's rating:

IvyPanda
IvyPanda
Answered by IvyPanda
One of our experts with a specialization in Literature has kindly provided an answer to this question. Feel free to rate the answer and let us know if you liked it.

Cite This paper

Select a citation style:

Reference

IvyPanda. (2020, December 2). What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice? https://ivypanda.com/q/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/

Reference

IvyPanda. (2020, December 2). What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice? Retrieved from https://ivypanda.com/q/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/

Work Cited

"What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice?" IvyPanda, 2 Dec. 2020, ivypanda.com/q/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.

1. IvyPanda. "What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice?" December 2, 2020. https://ivypanda.com/q/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.


Bibliography


IvyPanda. "What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice?" December 2, 2020. https://ivypanda.com/q/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.

References

IvyPanda. 2020. "What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice?" December 2, 2020. https://ivypanda.com/q/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.

References

IvyPanda. (2020) 'What are the books similar to Pride and Prejudice'. 2 December.

Check the price of your paper