Home > Free Essays > Business > Management > Malcolm Baldrige Award

Malcolm Baldrige Award Essay

Exclusively available on IvyPanda Available only on IvyPanda
Updated: Dec 22nd, 2019

Malcolm Baldrige Award

Malcolm Baldrige Award refers to the highest level of recognition that a US company can receive in terms of performance. It is the only formal body, which recognizes excellence in performance by US companies in private and public sectors. The president of the US gives the award to the best performing company in terms of quality performance annually.

The organizations that qualify for the award cut across Education sector, Manufacturing Health Care non-profit making and business related organizations. Maureen and Gruska state that “The Congress established the award in 1987 under the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Improvement Act of 1987, named after Malcom Baldrige who was the US Secretary of Commerce” (2005).

The establishment of the award was to give recognition to those companies that showed great performance and achievement in quality business practices.

The establishment of the award was to create awareness on quality of goods, services and performance excellence to promote competitive advantage among organizations.

Therefore, it refers to a customer-focused agent aiming at achieving productivity, financial and market outcomes, competitiveness, good governance and leadership, product and services outcomes, as well as the quality of US firms for the good of all citizens (Maureen and Gruska 2005).

Criteria for getting Malcolm Baldrige award

The award identifies organizations that act as role models for other firms. It helps firms to identify improvement efforts, identify their strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats, and to identify their management information systems for improvement.

Organizations have to apply for the award and for an organization to get the award; it must meet the performance criteria established. Companies must apply for the award and pay a nonrefundable fee. The assessment of the companies is based on its focus and attention to customers, internal processes, employee satisfaction, and leadership among other factors (Maureen and Gruska 2005).

The history of Malcolm Baldrige award

In the 1980s, the US government and industry sectors came up with the idea of having quality control measures expanded to the competitive market. Regardless of this, most of the businesses did not care about quality.

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award became the law on August, 20, 1987; it aimed to be the standard of measure of excellence that would propel US organizations to become excellent companies.

At the end of 1987, Dr. Riemann and his staff in NIST came up with an award framework with a scheme of evaluation, which is now called the Baldrige Award. The award expanded to healthcare and education fields in 1998, and in 2005 to nonprofit sector (Maureen and Gruska 2005).

Malcolm Baldrige award recipients (companies)

Year Recipient Sector
2011. Concordia Publishing House Non-Profit,
Henry Ford Health System Health Care
Schneck Medical Center Health Care
Southcentral Foundation Health Care
2010. MEDRAD Manufacturing
Nestlé Purina PetCare Co Manufacturing
Freese and Nichols Inc Small Business
K&N Management Small Business
Studer Group Small Business
Montgomery County Public Schools Education
2009. Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies Manufacturing
MidwayUSA Small Business
AtlantiCare Health Care
Heartland Health Health Care
2008. Cargill Corn Milling North America Manufacturing
Poudre Valley Health System Health Care
Iredell-Statesville Schools Education
2007. PRO-TEC Coating Co Small Business
2006. Premier Inc Services
2005 Richland College Education
Park Place Lexus Small Business
2004 The Bama Companies Manufacturing
Texas Nameplate Company, Inc. Small Business
2003. Stoner Inc. Small Business
Baptist Hospital, Inc. Health Care
2002. SSM Health Care Health Care
SSM Health Care Health Care
2001 Pearl River School District Education
University of Wisconsin–Stout Education
2000. KARLEE Company, Inc. Manufacturing
1999. Sunny Fresh Foods Small Business
1998. Solar Turbines Inc. Manufacturing
1997. Solectron Corp. Manufacturing
1996. Custom Research Inc. Small Business
1995. Corning Telecommunications Products Division Manufacturing
1994. Wainwright Industries Inc. Manufacturing
1993. Eastman Chemical Co. Manufacturing
1992. AT&T Universal Card Services Services
1991. Zytec Corp. Manufacturing
1990. IBM Rochester. Manufacturing
1989. Milliken & Co. Manufacturing
1988. Motorola Inc. Manufacturing


Maureen, Heaphy, and Gruska, Fredrick. The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award: a yardstick for quality growth. New York: Addison-Wesley, 2005. Print.

This essay on Malcolm Baldrige Award was written and submitted by your fellow student. You are free to use it for research and reference purposes in order to write your own paper; however, you must cite it accordingly.
Removal Request
If you are the copyright owner of this paper and no longer wish to have your work published on IvyPanda.
Request the removal

Need a custom Essay sample written from scratch by
professional specifically for you?

Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar

certified writers online

Cite This paper
Select a url citation style:


IvyPanda. (2019, December 22). Malcolm Baldrige Award. Retrieved from https://ivypanda.com/essays/malcolm-baldrige-award/

Work Cited

"Malcolm Baldrige Award." IvyPanda, 22 Dec. 2019, ivypanda.com/essays/malcolm-baldrige-award/.

1. IvyPanda. "Malcolm Baldrige Award." December 22, 2019. https://ivypanda.com/essays/malcolm-baldrige-award/.


IvyPanda. "Malcolm Baldrige Award." December 22, 2019. https://ivypanda.com/essays/malcolm-baldrige-award/.


IvyPanda. 2019. "Malcolm Baldrige Award." December 22, 2019. https://ivypanda.com/essays/malcolm-baldrige-award/.


IvyPanda. (2019) 'Malcolm Baldrige Award'. 22 December.

More related papers
Psst... Stuck with your
assignment? 😱
Psst... Stuck with your assignment? 😱
Do you need an essay to be done?
What type of assignment 📝 do you need?
How many pages (words) do you need? Let's see if we can help you!