Cite this

The Five Pillars of Islam Analytical Essay

The Muslim religion is based on Five Pillars of Islam. These are basic values and principles which influence the notion, actions and morals of the faith.

Every Muslim adherent is bound by the Five Pillars of Islam to uphold his or her devotion to the Islamic faith. Devout Muslims are required toask for forgiveness for their wrongdoings in order to secure their place in heaven or Jannah. The five tenets of Islam guide the faithful not to waver in their obedience to Allah.

Muslims maintain deep honor for the existence of God, who they believe exists in all the aspects of their life. The religion harbors a profound belief that every individual has a unique natural destiny that is presented to a person by God, thus it is He whogives something to a human. This implies that everything that Muslims own belongs to God.

The first tenet of Islam is Shahada. Shahada means Allah who is the most superior God. He reaches out to the faithful Muslim through Muhammad (Henderson 63-64). This term invokedby Muslims is a constant reminder that only Allah should be worshipped.Moreover, He is the supreme deity with the ability and liberty to act at will.

This status lends credence to His commandments stated in the Koran. Shahada impliesthat the Christian principleswhich recognize God as the most powerful entity are false.All other religious powers, such as pantheism, are equally obsolete. Muslims believe that Prophet Muhammad is holy because, through him, Allah communicated significant revelationsto the faithful (Khan 13-14).

The second Islamic pillar is Salat or prayer. This tenet involves profession of wrongdoings. The profession process begins with the cleansing of oneself and spirit. Prayer is undertaken five times every day, from dawn to dusk.

There are five prayers that fallunder Salat are Fajr, Shurooq, Asr, Dhuhr, Isha and Maghrib. The prayer which Muslims say at sunset is referred to as the Maghrib while Isha comes later in the evening. All the prayers act as a constant reminder of the significance of Allah and his omnipresence among and within the Muslim faithful.

The third pillar is fasting or Saum. Fasting is a significant tenet of the Islamic faith, which puts all the faithful at the same level of the sacrifice as those who do not have food. The month of Ramadan witnesses Muslims of all the social stratasacrifice the basic need and food. Saumis to help Muslims to seek answers for their questionsfrom Allah. In most cases, the fasting process does not involve any form of ingestion or sexual activity during the daytime hours of the holy month (Henderson 62-67).

The fourth pillar is Charity or Zakat. Giving alms is an important facet of the Islamic faith. Muslims advocate and practice philanthropy. Charity benefits the underprivileged members of the society and enables the donor to make tremendous steps towards devoutness and obedience to Allah as He believes in generosity. Muslims consider donations as a way of appreciating God’s help. The final Pillar of Islam is Pilgrimage or Hajj.

The Muslim pilgrimage is normally held in Mecca where all thefinancially stable faithful tender their financial sacrifice as a way of appreciating God’s love and blessing. Muslims are required by the Koran to set the pilgrimage date during the first two weeks of the final month of a lunar year. The Five Pillars of Islam are used to emphasize unity among the faithful and act in one voice (Khan 12-14).


In general, all the Five Pillars of Islam dictate the activities and operations of the members of the religion. Shahada and Pilgrimage facets are eminently based on individual actions, although the first Islamic tenet requires community service or appreciation of Ummato some extent.

The remaining pillars, such as prayers, fasting and giving away alms, are a manifestation of Allah’s love andinclusiveness. The pillars inspire activities undertaken in unity by the faithful to improve the status of the less fortunate followers. The community features prominently in relatively all the aspects of the Islamic religious conviction. Through the Five Pillars, Muslims believe in and strive to present their religion in the form of a complete culture rather than just a spiritual entity.

Works Cited

Henderson, Shirley. Journey to Allah. Ebony, 65.4 (2010): 62-67. Print.

Khan, Daisy. The Five Pillars of Islam. Appleseeds, 6.3 (2003): 12-14. Print.

This Analytical Essay on The Five Pillars of Islam was written and submitted by user Giant Man to help you with your own studies. You are free to use it for research and reference purposes in order to write your own paper; however, you must cite it accordingly.

Giant Man studied at The University of Alabama, USA, with average GPA 3.58 out of 4.0.

Need a custom Analytical Essay sample written from scratch by
professional specifically for you?

Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar
Writer online avatar

301 certified writers online


Cite This paper

Select a citation style:


Man, G. (2018, June 13). The Five Pillars of Islam [Blog post]. Retrieved from

Work Cited

Man, Giant. "The Five Pillars of Islam." IvyPanda, 13 June 2018,

1. Giant Man. "The Five Pillars of Islam." IvyPanda (blog), June 13, 2018.


Man, Giant. "The Five Pillars of Islam." IvyPanda (blog), June 13, 2018.


Man, Giant. 2018. "The Five Pillars of Islam." IvyPanda (blog), June 13, 2018.


Man, G. (2018) 'The Five Pillars of Islam'. IvyPanda, 13 June.

More related papers